Skip to main content

Licensed Practical Nursing

Connie Baker

Connie Baker, MSN RN
baker_c@aps.edu

I have been teaching nursing in the Practical nursing program at CEC since 1994.  I have been a registered nurse since 1978.  My nursing bedside experience for the first 16 years of my career is in perioperative nursing, especially general surgery, orthopedics and plastic surgery.   I completed my masters degree with a focus on nursing education in 1996 right after I came to CEC as faculty.  Working with outstanding and highly motivated students and faculty is a joy and very rewarding.  I enjoy meeting the students' families and encourage all families to stay involved in their student's nursing education.  This is a very difficult program and it requires total commitment from students, faculty and families for success.  Thank you for sharing your students with us.  They will have incredible opportunities when they complete the Practical Nursing Program.

Catherine Baum

Catherine Baum, MSN RN
catherine.baum@aps.edu

Mrs. Catherine Baum has been a Nursing Instructor for the CEC LPN Program since 2017. Her passion for teaching nursing students can be traced from the start of her career and throughout her career. She is excited to be teaching the nursing students at CEC.
Here at CEC she teaches the following classes and clinicals: Adult Medical Surgical Nursing classes, Maternal Child Nursing classes, Medical Surgical clinicals, Nursing Skills Labs and Simulations Labs.
Her interests include reading, walking, traveling and spending time with her family and friends.

Margaret Hendrix

Margaret Hendrix, MSN RN
margaret.hendrix@aps.edu

I have been teaching at CEC for over eight years. I teach primarily in the junior block, theory, and clinical. My nursing specialty is OR trauma. I enjoy teaching your kids; they are eager learners and bring joy to nursing.

Susan Jenks

Susan Jenks, MSN RN
jenks@aps.edu

I am a Senior Instructor for the APS CEC Nursing LPN program. I have worked for 19 years for Albuquerque Public Schools; 17 years as a School Nurse and 2 years teaching for the CEC Nursing program. I have 36 years experience working as a Registered Nurse in both the hospital and community settings. I attended San Diego State University for my BSN and completed my MSN with an emphasis in Nursing education in 2016. I enjoy staying active with swimming, biking and yoga; sewing, gardening and reading.

Katrina Roanhorse

Katrina Roanhorse, BSN RN
katrina.roanhorse@aps.edu

I have been a nurse for 5 years. Most of that time has been doing medical-surgical nursing on hospital floors. I have been teaching for 2.5 years with the PN program. I aspire to impart the art and science of nursing into others.

Carol Schesser

Carol Schesser, MSN RN
carol.schesser@aps.edu

I have been with the CEC Nursing Program since January 2019.   I was a labor & delivery nurse in the beginning of my nursing career.  Then I moved to a Director position over various clinics for UNMH.  I have always loved teaching and after retiring from UNMH I was fortunate to obtain a faculty position here at CEC.

Rebecca Weatherford
Rebecca Weatherford, MSN FNP-BC
weatherford@aps.edu

I am a graduate of the Career Enrichment Center Practical Nursing Program from a long time ago! After graduation, I continued my education and received a Bachelor’s Degree in Nursing from UNM.  In 2005, after working predominately in Pediatric and Maternal Child nursing, I began teaching at CEC.  In 2012, I earned my Family Nurse Practitioner degree from University of St. Francis.  I have taught all aspects of the CEC Nursing program, spending most of my time as a Senior Instructor.  In my free time, I enjoying reading, designing flower arrangements, exercising, outdoor activities and spending time with my family and dogs.  

   

Clinical Nursing Instructors
Lucy Barabe, MSN
snowqueen88@phs.org
Jacqueline Bourguet Abrams, MSN RN
jacqueline.bourguet-abrams@aps.edu
Lorine Derusha, MSN FNP
lorine.derusha@aps.edu
Lisa Kauffman, MSN
lkauffman@comcast.net or kauffman@aps.edu
Michelle Keck, DNP
mikkims74@aol.com
Donna Ketcheson, MSN
donna.ketcheson@aps.edu
Patricia Kious, RN
kious@aps.edu
Mikayla Kujath, BSN RN
mikayla.salazar@aps.edu
Tammy Meyer, MSN RN
tammy.meyer@aps.edu
Pauline Tither, DNP RN
pauline.tither@aps.edu